Holy Friday: plangent tones

The first time I ever heard Russian choral music, I came away gobsmacked. Until then, I had never heard pieces written for basso profundo voices. A bit unsettling at first.

But when one hears a choral arrangement for tenor, baritone, and bass–there’s a resonance, a certain depth, that leads upward.

Yes. I probably am rambling. The music is more eloquent.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Terry Hoosier
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 12:55:42

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

