Craving salmon roe

A bit earlier, I was listening to the Spilled Milk podcast. They were talking about (and making) onigiri. And it made me a little peckish…
I’ve never eaten rice balls, but whenever I see them (in manga, or in anime) they always pique my curiosity–not to mention my appetite. And the how-to seems really simple: press together cooked, vinegared rice and your choice of fillings, and voila! A handheld, portable snack…or light meal…or whatever you please.

And I do have some keta salmon in the freezer, a recipe for sticky rice, and some ramekins for shaping the darlings. So I could whip up a batch for this evening and be quite happy. But I’m not interested in the salmon at the moment, so much as the roe. (You heard me.) I adore caviars, and salmon caviar is wonderful.

Sadly, salmon roe is also a little on the pricey side–you’re lucky to pay $10 for one ounce of the stuff. So I have to remind myself to save the pennies, shop around, and (worst case scenario) sign up for a summer job in Alaska.

In the meantime, I think I shall try my hand at making onigiri. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

